*Stock trading, countries: UK only.
If you wish to invest in a stock, you will first need to complete the Know Your Customer onboarding process and have your identity verified.
Then, you will need to add funds to your account, further information on how to do this can be found in this article.
In the Investing tab, you can find all stocks that are tradable on our platform. There are four different ways to find a stock:
Click on the magnifying glass icon that can be found in the bottom right corner of your investing tab
Click on “Search”, you can find stocks by either scrolling down or by typing in the name of the stock you are looking for
Selecting a stock within your existing portfolio
Going to Watchlists and browsing the Watchlists you created with your friends
Selecting stocks from the “Biggest Movers”
How to place a buy order
Once you have decided and located the stock you would like to invest in, press the “Buy” button on the stock details screen.
You can buy stocks during US market hours (9:30 a.m to 4:00 p.m Eastern time, which is equivalent to 2:30 p.m to 9:00 p.m GMT) and your order will be executed as a market order right away. You can also schedule a buy order when the market is closed which will be queued and executed once the market opens.
On the next screen, you will see an indicative stock price.
Enter the amount you’d like to invest (minimum trade amount is 1 GBP). You can only invest up to the number of available funds in your account. If you’d like to invest more, simply top-up your account before placing the order.
Choose the visibility setting for your trade.
Note: We will never show the exact amount you’ve spent on any order. Other users will be able to see only the stock symbol, the executed price of your chosen stock, your display name, your picture, a note and GIF should you wish to include one
Public - any user of Shares will be able to see this trade in the Activity feed.
Friends only - only people who you have connected with will be able to see the trade in the Activity feed.
Ghost Mode - this trade will be shown only to people you have connected with but without exposing any details of your trade, your name, or your picture. It’s like trading in an anonymous mode. Your friends will still be able to interact with the activity (like, comment), but they will not know who exactly they are interacting with. You can reply to them in comments in the ghost mode as well.
You can add a note by clicking
This message will be later displayed in the Activity feed next to your order.
Add a GIF by clicking
GIFs allow you to express more emotions related to the purchase. The GIF will be shown on the activity feed next to your order.
When you are ready, press the “Review” button.
The order review will then appear.
How to read Order Review?
At the top of the screen under “Order Review” you can see the approximate number of shares you will buy.
You will see the exact message and GIF which will be added to your trade on the Activity feed.
Privacy: who will be able to see your trade in the activity feed.
Stock price: the approximate price per stock in USD.
Amount: amount in your local currency which will be spent on buying the stock. It is equal to the total amount invested minus the service fees.
Service fee: we charge a small fee of 0.79% of the amount of your trade to cover all third party costs and fees.
Total cost: total amount you will be charged for this transaction in your local currency.
At Shares, all orders are Market Orders. This means once you have hit “confirm” they are sent immediately to our broker for execution with a view to achieving the market's current best available price. As the market is constantly fluctuating, it is possible that the price in the “Order Review” screen may differ from the execution price.
Further information can be found in our Terms & Conditions, as well as Regulatory Disclosures which can also be found on the order review screen. We encourage you to read both of these documents before proceeding.
9. If all of the details are correct and you’re ready to proceed, click “Confirm”. Your order will then be sent to our brokers who will execute the trade. Not all orders can be executed and may be rejected for several reasons. Please refer to our terms and conditions for more information.
Note: If you need to change the order details, you can come back to the previous screen and edit any parameter. Note, once you have clicked on “Confirm” on the Order Review Screen, you will no longer be able to make any changes to your trade.